The 50 Greatest Gen-X Songs to Pump YOU Up

Hans and Franz Approve This List

Bonnie Barton
The Riff

--

Dana Carvey and Kevin Nealon (aka Hans and Franz) via Saturday Night Live/NBC

Today’s list was inspired by a story written by Pierce McIntyre last month.

My lists are always a bit unorthodox and unpredictable. Frankly, I like that my ear and musical spirit always veer a bit.

I don’t discriminate against songs that are radio-friendly and popular. And I don’t avoid challenging, less accessible songs. I embrace it all!

In a potentially polarizing decision, I cast the net very wide. I intentionally included songs from the 70s until the turn of the century.

To be clear: these are the songs that Gen-X was raised on (not necessarily songs written/created by Gen-X).

The truth is Gen-X intersects with and listens to Eminem AND Donna Summer.

Did I lean a smidge into alt 80s more than I should have? Probably. Do I feel bad about that? Ha! Not at all.

But I can reassure you I have representation from a very diverse mix of sounds, genres, artists, and decades. Heck, I even tried to make country work but ultimately decided I was forcing it!

So here we go. The rock. The roll. The funk. The ridiculous. The uplifting. The campy. The favorites. And the way outside the box, too.

--

--

Bonnie Barton
The Riff

Queen of mixtapes. Lover of music, travel, and fashion. Authentic sharer of life lessons and dating foibles.