Music

The 7 Latest Additions to My Record Collection

A recent pop-up sale offered something for every taste

Kevin Alexander
The Riff
Published in
6 min readMar 8, 2024

--

The only advertising this sale got. Photo by author.

Note: I’m bringing this series back for 2024. I love seeing what people pick up on their crate digging excursions, and assume (hope?) many of you feel the same way.

You know that old joke about garage sales, “Everything you want and nothing you need?” I think it’s similar with records. We don’t know we need something until we see it. Then, we can’t imagine life without it.

You’re not looking for most records when they find you.

I wasn’t looking for a record sale this past weekend, either. I was on the Harmony Bar’s website, making sure I had the right date for a show this fall, when I saw a sale happening. Tomorrow.

Ten minutes earlier, I had no idea it was going to happen. Now, I was making sure I could make it. Funny how that works.

Like the bar, the sale itself was lowkey. One small yard sign out front was the only hint that something was going on. I hadn’t been here in a while, but not much had changed. The door still creaks, as do the floorboards. The paint is the same. It still smells vaguely of beer and fried cheese curds-just as nature intended. This is, after all, the house that Rollo Steele built.

--

--

Kevin Alexander
The Riff

Indie music journalist | Mixtape maker | EIC The Riff Magazine | Writer of the On Repeat Newsletter on Substack |