The Best Song From Every Decade

Six priceless pieces of pop culture worth keeping alive

Matthew Kent
The Riff

--

Foto de Eric Nopanen en Unsplash

The mark of good culture is that it unites people in the moment. The mark of great culture is that it transcends the time of its creation and is worth passing down to the next generation.

Pop culture has given us some amazing music through the decades. But here is the very best of each decade; the song that was the best contribution to our shared experience that is most worthy of passing on.

But wait, is this list objective or just one man’s opinion? Listen, don’t overthink it. Just read the list and let me have it in the comments if you disagree. Here we go.

1950’s: Everyday — Buddy Holly (1957)

When I think of the 1950’s, I think of post-war American optimism.

Earnest, innocent, hopeful.

Buddy Holly’s Everyday is the perfect embodiment of that spirit. It somehow manages to be the perfect embodiment of its time as well as timeless.

I used to sing this song to my second son when he was a baby and had a tough time going to sleep. For me in that moment it stopped being a love song in the traditional sense and was instead about looking forward to a time when my son was old enough to love me back.

--

--

Matthew Kent
The Riff

Done settling for average. Now I have my sights set on awesome 😎 Get “The Ultimate Daily Checklist,” my free ebook on productivity: http://bit.ly/2pTziwr