EACH YEAR’S BEST SONG FROM THE PAST 40 YEARS

The Best Song of 1982: “1999” by Prince

“But life is just a party and parties weren’t meant to last”

Eddie Becker
The Riff
Published in
7 min readOct 8, 2021

--

Prince’s 1999 album cover, edited with Prisma

As I celebrated my 40th birthday this year, I wanted to write about the best song from each of the past 40 years. These songs are chosen based on a combination of popular music and my personal tastes.

Where were you on the night of December 31, 1999? Who were you with? What were you doing?

Were you at a friend’s party, gulping down the contents of a red Solo cup while shaking some obnoxious noise maker? Were you sitting on a couch watching the ball drop from New York City watching Tom Brokaw interview a business tycoon named Donald Trump?

Maybe you were sat in front of a large computer monitor, counting down the minutes until the year 2000, worried the Y2K hype was true and that most of the world’s power grids were about to meltdown, into anarchy?

I was 18 at the time. I was driving. I’m not sure where I was going or even who I was with. I’d like to say I was with some attractive 18-year-old girl. I wasn’t.

I’d like to say I had a car full of my goofy friends, but I think, as I reflect now, that I was actually driving alone. Not sure if I was going to a…

--

--

Eddie Becker
The Riff

Writer published on sites such as Bleacher Report, Relevant Magazine, and The Good Men Project. | Top Writer in Music, also writing on Humor, Faith, Poetry, etc