Each Year’s Best Song From the Past 40 Years

The Best Song of 1983: “Girls Just Wanna Have Fun” by Cyndi Lauper

“Oh momma dear, we’re not the fortunate ones”

Eddie Becker
The Riff
Published in
6 min readOct 15, 2021

--

Cyndi Lauper’s “She So Unusual” album cover, edited with Prisma

As I celebrated my 40th birthday this year, I wanted to write about the best song from each of the past 40 years. These songs are chosen based on a combination of popular music and my personal tastes.

The most popular toys for boys from the year 1983 in no particular order are as follows:

G.I. Joe and Star Wars action figures. E.T. toys. He-Man action figures, most notably Skeletor and his trusty cat steed Panthor. Yes, I spelled that right. For one Halloween I dressed up as Skeletor with my sister doing my face paint. There is, somewhere in the recesses of our attic a picture showing me, dressed as Skeletor, pointing a sword fashion from what looks like a curtain rod at my sister with a frighteningly evil look on my face.

I wasn’t much for dressing up for Halloween, but I did because it was part of the ritual. It was what you did to get candy. And I loved candy.

Truthfully, I loved Halloween. I loved walking around the circle that made up our neighborhood and going door-to-door holding out my plastic bag for candy. Those were good times. Those times were…

--

--

Eddie Becker
The Riff

Writer published on sites such as Bleacher Report, Relevant Magazine, and The Good Men Project. | Top Writer in Music, also writing on Humor, Faith, Poetry, etc