Each Year’s Best Song From the Past 40 Years

The Best Song of 1985: “Summer of ‘69” by Bryan Adams

“That summer seemed to last forever…”

Eddie Becker
The Riff
Published in
5 min readOct 29, 2021

--

Bryan Adams’ “Reckless” album cover, edited with Prisma

As I celebrated my 40th birthday this year, I wanted to write about the best song from each of the past 40 years. These songs are chosen based on a combination of popular music and my personal tastes.

I hope you’re sitting at your desk right now. Or maybe just lounging on the couch. Maybe you’re in a car. I don’t know. But I hope right now, as you’re reading this, you’re somewhere relatively calm. Quiet. Serene, even. Somewhere your mind cannot help but wander. To dream.

And I wonder…where does the wandering take you? Are you adrift on a sailboat in the Pacific? Are you meandering a trail hiking in the Smoky Mountains? Are you 17 again, leading the team to the state title? Are you standing in front of your most-prized watercolor painting of the Eiffel Tower in spring, gushing with joy at the praises heaped upon your work by even the snootiest of art critics?

I’ll tell you where I am. I’m in a band. I’m the lead singer with some of my best friends playing guitar, bass, and drums. Maybe a saxophone and keyboard thrown in as well? I’m not sure. But I’m in a band. A rock band. And we’re doing covers of some great 90’s…

--

--

Eddie Becker
The Riff

Writer published on sites such as Bleacher Report, Relevant Magazine, and The Good Men Project. | Top Writer in Music, also writing on Humor, Faith, Poetry, etc