WEIRD ALBUMS SERIES ENTRY TWENTY-FIVE

The Drones Are ‘Feelin Kinda Free’ Returning to Experimental Rock

The Australian blues rock outfit returns to its roots

Alexander Razin
The Riff
Published in
5 min readApr 27, 2024

--

Image Credit: TFS Records

I have become a bore. All I talk about in the Weird Albums Series are experimental rock and avant-garde metal albums. It’s not by choice — it’s a matter of taste since I mostly listen to rock and metal.

That will change. I will expand my musical horizons. But first, let’s look at another experimental rock album.

You may ask yourself, “What is the Weird Albums Series?”

WAS is a monthly review in which I discuss albums beyond typical music structures. Today’s album is The Drones’ 2016 LP, Feelin Kinda Free. This article marks the 25th part of the series.

In each installment, I explain the album’s background, my thoughts, and the legacy. Then, I rate the album using the Beefheartian scale.

Experimental music enthusiasts invented this rating system to describe albums that resemble Captain Beefheart.

A ten in the rating system means: “Hot damn, that’s weird!”

And a one: “Is that Nickelback?”

--

--

Alexander Razin
The Riff

Aficionado and connoisseur of obscure and experimental music, movies, and TV. Fictional and nonfictional pieces have their place here, too