The Post-Grunge Era

But I want it that way

Vince Coliam
The Riff

--

Photo by Leon Skibitzki on Unsplash

What were we thinking?

I couldn’t find a picture that properly demonstrated the exact style that I’m thinking of, but you know what I mean. It was the frosted tips fad that dominated the late 90s and early 2000s.

I had a hilarious conversation with a friend of mine about how the trend was so shameful that I can’t find any visual evidence that it ever existed.

How in the world did the culture and style so quickly change from the grunge era with its glorious long locks to its polar opposite of boy band bleach blonde tips?

Personally, I never participated in that trend. Sure I bleached my hair a few times, but I bleached all of it and kept it as long as I could. I never had the short and separated bangs that were immortalized by Marshall Mathers.

Even if I had wanted that look, I simply wouldn’t have had the patience to separate the strands of hair and work them through the holes in that plastic cap so that only the tips would be bleached.

I still don’t have that kind of patience.

Even the music itself ended up a bit bleached.

I’m not saying that there isn’t value in it or even that I didn’t enjoy some of the songs from this period. It just seems that the songs lack the…

--

--

Vince Coliam
The Riff

I am a lifelong musician who loves to write about my passion. I am a pianist, a Top Writer in Music, a musical theorist, and a published composer