There’s a Devil on My Shoulder

A BMT Mixtape for The Riff

Bonnie Barton
The Riff

--

Confession: no Grateful Dead dudes are on this mixtape/Credit: Michael Ochs Archives

It’s not uncommon for me to bring up my music blogging fairly quickly when matching with someone on various dating apps. I’ll ask about their favorite music to learn more about them and, if appropriate, send them one of my mixtapes that incorporates the kind of music they’re into.

It seems statistically impossible that so many guys here (i.e., my current home along the Mississippi coast) would respond with the Grateful Dead.

Number of guys in Austin who mentioned the Grateful Dead as their favorite band: zero. Number of guys in southern Mississippi/Louisiana (I’m so close to the Louisiana border that I often match with guys in that state): well, if I had a dollar for each time a guy has said Jerry Garcia et al, it would be enough to fund my Cherry Coke addiction for about…a week.

After another guy mentioned the Grateful Dead, I decided it was time to do something about it. The obstacle? I don’t like the Grateful Dead. But I’m up to a challenge!

Fortunately, I’d forgotten about “Friend of the Devil,” which I actually do like. Voila — this morphed into a devils and angels concept through Bonnie’s quirky musical lens. So while you won’t find the Grateful Dead on my latest creation, I’m genuinely happy they are the kernel of inspiration.

--

--

Bonnie Barton
The Riff

Queen of mixtapes. Lover of music, travel, and fashion. Authentic sharer of life lessons and dating foibles.