This Viral Tweet About Justin Bieber Scammed My Eardrums

Here’s why you don’t take music recommendations from Twitter.

Nia Simone McLeod
The Riff

--

Screenshot from “2 Much” video; edit by author

I have been a part of Justin Bieber’s fanbase, Beliebers, for over a decade. I remember subscribing to him on YouTube before his first single, “One Time”, came out in 2009. Over the years, my interest in Justin Bieber has gone up and down. Recently, it’s been at a low.

I had no idea he had a new album coming out until I stumbled upon this viral tweet:

It featured a clip from Justin Bieber’s Tiny Desk (Home) Concert. In it, he sang a song I hadn’t heard before, “Peaches.”

Hearing this clip reignited the 15-year-old girl inside me that saw an advance screening of Never Say Never and wrote Justin Bieber fanfiction in her free time.

The live, slowed-down version of “Peaches” sounded great. It was jazzy and, dare I say, soulful. The tweet led me to watch the full music video, featuring Daniel Caesar and Giveon.

--

--

Nia Simone McLeod
The Riff

Writer covering whatever piques my interest | she/her | Subscribe to my newsletter: https://ohwrite.substack.com/welcome