Music

This Week’s Heavy Rotation #28

Everything’s all right

Kevin Alexander
The Riff
Published in
4 min readJul 21, 2021

--

Young child listening to music through headphones
What multimedia looked like in the late ’70s. Photo by author

Note: Each week I take a look back at my playlists and share songs that were either played the most, got stuck in my head, or just stood out. Many are new to me, but there are old faves mixed in as well.

Below is my Top 5 of the last 7 days:

Thomas Dolby- Europa and the Pirate Twins

For a song turning 40 in a couple of months, this sure holds up well. This appeared on Dolby’s The Golden Age of Wireless record.

Multiple configurations were released with songs added/removed along the way. One was called “She Blinded Me With Science.”

Maybe you’ve heard of it? Great track, but it’s addition takes away from other gems like this.

LCD Soundsystem- Get Innocuous!

This band has become almost a comfort food for me lately, and I find their songs sprinkled more and more throughout my playlists.

--

--

Kevin Alexander
The Riff

Indie music journalist | Mixtape maker | EIC The Riff Magazine | Writer of the On Repeat Newsletter on Substack |