Three 6 Mafia Stay Relevant

They were ahead of their time and are an important entity in the history of music.

AJ Wiseman
The Riff

--

Three Six Mafia
Three Six Mafia | screenshot from Clout Cancún on YouTube

Three 6 Mafia is a group with an extensive catalog that is easy to get sucked into. Their sound resonates with a generation so much so that they haven’t been active as a group for 14 years and yet, they’re constantly being sampled.

Drake, A$AP Rocky, A$AP Ferg, G-Eazy, Cardi B, Rae Sremmurd, Travis Scott, $uicideboys, Wiz Khalifa are a few of the artists who have sampled Three 6. And one of their most requested samples is from the spitty beej anthem “Slob on My Nob,” a song where Juicy J asks to be fellated like corn on the cob.

When I hear a new song using a Three 6 beat it makes me dig back into their albums. The more time that goes by the more important the group becomes. Their style was unquestionably unique. Four members left the group along the way with only the two maestros DJ Paul and Juicy J remaining.

I saw them live one time opening for Ludacris and it was one of the funniest shows I’ve ever seen. They played their records while throwing a party on stage, inviting women up to dance and drink with them. By the end of their set there was like 30 women on stage.

Everyone in the crowd partied in unison. It was the only time I experienced a show like…

--

--

AJ Wiseman
The Riff

A lot of true crime, music, and sports but I throw in life stuff to understand why I’m like this. Hit me up if you want me to do your podcast.