“To Use Our App, Delete It Continually”

I want to support musicians more, but TIDAL makes it difficult

Kayla Vokolek
The Riff

--

Photo by Filip on Unsplash

My family and I had used Spotify for years but switched to TIDAL a couple of years ago. No $250 million deals with Joe Rogan, better music quality, and it’s “one of the select few streaming services which pays out more than 1 cent per stream.” “Spotify pays artists between $0.003 — $0.005 per stream on average.”

TIDAL isn’t perfect, but neither is Spotify. Music quality and fairer payment models make a big difference for me.

But what if you can’t even listen to music anymore?

My phone started glitching after a TIDAL update in November. “iPhone storage almost full.” Full? That’s odd.

I soon saw that “downloaded videos” were clogging up my storage space. I never download videos.

Aha, so TIDAL was the culprit. I soon surmised that each song that’s played gets saved as a “downloaded video.” Some take up much more…

--

--

Kayla Vokolek
The Riff

Pursuing MFA in Nonfiction Writing at Portland State