Top 25 The Rolling Stones Songs: One Pick Per Album

I listened to the entire Stones discography and picked one favorite from each album in their US catalog.

GONGENHUM
The Riff

--

Photo by Vale Arellano on Unsplash

I have been watching The Rolling Stones all my life. I have learned through the decades that they are one of the greatest rock bands ever. You know how important a band is when, even though you don’t listen to them regularly, you can at least name three of their members.

I have also seen them live in Stockholm, Sweden. When Mick Jagger, at age 74, danced like a teenager for over two hours, as if this is an up-and-coming quartet trying to establish its presence and prove a point. Jagger is a master communicator. He even spoke some broken Swedish. He told us that this is the 27th time they are visiting Sweden! I have been thinking about The Stone a lot since then. Now, with Charlie Watts gone, there are only three Stones left. The least I could do was listen to their entire discography, something I have put on the back burner for years.

Here is me going through the oeuvre, one US catalog album at a time, giving it a full listen and then picking one and only one song from each.

The list is chronological and starts from 1964’s England’s Newest Hit Makers up to Blue & Lonesome, 2016. I hope you enjoy the ride…

--

--

GONGENHUM
The Riff

The Noise of Time — Music, Culture, Lost Futures, Possible Futures, Degradation, Silver Linings, Vanity, Elegance, And Then Some More Music