Inspired by Other Medium Writers: Nichola Scurry

Video Killed The Radio Star: A Legacy

All The Information You Never Needed To Know

Francis B.
The Riff
Published in
7 min readMar 21, 2023

--

source: Canva Pro

Medium is like the internet in a microcosm. You think you are going to read one article and then start your own, and five hours and several days later, you are emerging from the rabbit hole of learning more about one song than you ever needed to know.

I blame 😉 (and praise) writer extraordinaire Nichola Scurry for giving me the “drink-me” potion this morning in her excellent article below.
(Got to love the photo…)

The Original Song

As we're informed in the article above, the first video to be aired on MTV ™,
“Video Killed, The Radio Star” by The Buggles”,
was not the first time the song was recorded and aired in Nichola’s words…

However, did you know that former Buggles member, Bruce Woolley, with his new band, The Camera Club, recorded a version of “Video Killed the Radio…

--

--

Francis B.
The Riff

32K Views - Top Writer in Music. I write about Travel, Food, Inspiration, Music, & Film. I Publish/Edit 6 Publications. See my "About Me" article.