Weston Road Flows

A Much-Needed Summer Trip To Toronto

Stanley C.
The Riff

--

Views from Toronto Island Park of the city’s skyline | Courtesy of the author

A Long Awaited Summer Break

It was a little under a year since my last vacation. It was around June 2022, and I was knee-deep in my new position at work and mentally in need of a serious break. There were a few options on my list:

  • Washington State came up, and its beautiful coast.
  • Nashville was also under serious consideration thanks to it booming music scene and countless concert venues.
  • I also had my eyes on Jackson Hole and admired the thought of visiting Yellowstone for the first time.

Then there was Toronto.

Close enough to the city of Niagara Falls, this trip could include sites seeing in both Toronto city and Niagara Falls. Not only had Niagara Falls been on my bucket list for years but I’ve been listening about Toronto through Drake’s music since early high school. I looked into the places I could visit in “the 6” and was amazed. From the CN Tower to the aquarium there was enough to keep me entertained for a week, my allocated vacation time. I would recruit a friend to join me as well. He was still working remotely, so he decided to forgo any vacation time and keep his work phone on in case he got any calls. For the most part, though, our focus would be on the views in front…

--

--

Stanley C.
The Riff

Hi there 👋🏾 I'm a music writer that posts weekly essays about albums, genres, songs, and other novel topics in the music world that span across time.