Guns N’ Roses

When Slash Dressed in Drag to Mess With Steven Adler

A story from “Slash” by Slash and Anthony Bozza

Troy Larson
The Riff
Published in
3 min readMar 29, 2023

--

Art by author

The autobiography for Guns N’ Roses’ legendary guitarist has some pretty entertaining stories of debauchery and wild behavior. One story had me busting a gut— about the time when Slash dressed in drag to mess with drummer Steven Adler.

As Slash explains, he and Steven used to frequent The Rainbow on Sunset Strip to see live bands, and he recounted one memorable trip to the strip for Ladies’ Night.

We drove down to Hollywood and walked up to the club, and discovered that it was ladies’ night.

“That’s fuckin’ awesome!” Steven shouted.

I had gotten into the Rainbow for years, thanks to my fake ID and Steady, the club’s bouncer. […] For whatever reason, though, Steady wasn’t having it on this particular night: he let Steven in and sent me packing.

“Naw, not you,” he said. “Not tonight, go home.’

“What?” I asked. I had no right to be indignant but I was anyway. “What do you mean? I’m here all the time, man.”

“Yeah, I don’t give a shit,” he said. “Get out of here, you’re not coming in to- night.”

I was so fucking pissed off. I had…

--

--

Troy Larson
The Riff

UntilNightFalls.com | Unagented Fiction Author | 3x Top Writer on Art, Rock Music, Photography. Digital Content Producer. Broadcast veteran.