Why I’m Stuck in a Nostalgic Moment with U2

And I can’t get out of it

Sarah Paris
The Riff

--

Bono, The Edge, and Larry Mullen, Jr. still rocking it out. Wikimedia Commons

My childhood musical steam came from the 1980s and 1990s music of U2. But, in recent times, U2 has replaced Coldplay as the “talented but hated” band. While I haven’t loved the anthemic Irish rockers' most recent offerings, the lyrics and musicianship genius of their earlier offerings rouse my spirits to passion.

The collective hatred began with U2’s unsolicited iPhone release of the Songs of Innocence album. iPhone users ‘round the world were pissed at the gift of free music. And, as the global political and social chasm widens, the band’s advocacy for certain social justice issues is met with disdain. This is unfortunate, as U2 has a stellar canon of damned good music.

I often forget how much U2 spoke to and informed my early life. Recently, thanks to excellent U2 articles from Simon Dillon and Paul Combs, I can’t get the band out of my head. The albums The Joshua Tree, The Unforgettable Fire, Rattle and Hum, and Live at Red Rocks: Under a Blood Red Sky should rank at the top of the 100 albums of the 20th century.

Larry Mullen, Jr. is an underrated, phenomenal drummer. The Edge deserves a spot among the best living lead guitarists. Paul “Bono” Hewson’s lyrics paint detailed poetic images of humanity’s search for God and justice. And Adam Clayton

--

--

Sarah Paris
The Riff

Author of Signs My Toddler Has a Drinking Problem (humor collection).Freelance writer of all things. Looper features writer. Believer. Adventurer. Semi- funny.