Will We Ever Run Out of Fresh Music?

We already have songs that sound uncannily similar

Chandrayan Gupta
The Riff
Published in
5 min readDec 16, 2023

--

Photo by Yannis Papanastasopoulos on Unsplash

Introduction: Estimating the Amount of Music in This World

I love music. I love listening to music. I love singing along. I am listening to a live rendition of Be Yourself by Audioslave as we speak. Or as I type and you read. I discovered Chris Cornell several months ago and have concluded after much arduous deliberation he was one of the greatest vocalists ever to live. I have listened to hundreds, if not thousands, of songs, piano compositions, guitar solos, drum sets, and much more.

Eventually, I began to ponder a fascinating question: if there is so much music in this world already, with more being created every day, will we ever run out of fresh music? We already have songs that sound similar; think Bittersweet Symphony by The Verve and The Last Time by The Rolling Stones, or Creep by Radiohead and The Air That I Breathe by The Hollies, or I Gotta Feeling by The Black Eyed Peas and Take a Dive by Bryan Pringles.

Will there come a situation, sometime in the future, when artists will have exhausted every melody creatable? Which I cannot believe is an actual word. If people keep erecting houses on a stretch of land, developers will eventually run out of real estate to construct…

--

--

Chandrayan Gupta
The Riff

2x Psychological Crime Thriller Author | 415+ Articles Across 10+ Publications on Medium | Instagram: chandrayan_gupta