PROSE

Wipe Out!

A response to summer challenge surfs up

James G Brennan
The Riff
Published in
2 min readJul 9, 2021

--

Obscurity Pre Gig pose. Photo: Jim Darrah.

Ten years. Ten years!

No matter what bands I played in during my first 10 years
as a young drummer from eighteen to twenty-eight,
(bar the last one), wanted the Beach Boys drumming spectacular
Wipe Out!”

Starting off in an alternative band playing our first gig
surfing sonic waves on the back of a trailer in a park
summer of ’84 playing Wipe Out too hard too fast,
forearms burning sweat pouring, feck knows how I got through that one!

Once I started, bands after summer of ’84 expected
Wipe Out and myself to come as a package.

“Yeah man, you can play Wipe Out, let’s add it to the set!”

“Aw, what; not again!”

Hitting drums and cymbals harder, faster,
tomtom tom roll’s hair and arms flailing all over the place,
of course they were adding it to the set. It became my signature piece.

Ten years. Ten years!

This piece is a response to Jessica Lee McMillan’s Summer Challenge,
“Surf’s up”. Read Jessica’s wonderfully informative challenge here.

Thank you, Noah Levy Kevin Alexander Rob Janicke for giving my words a platform. 🙏✨
Phone app is not Dancing to the tune so I will say it here, thank you, Noah Levy and Kevin Alexander for accepting and publishing this piece. 🙏☘🙏☘
Thank you all for reading and your precious time. Always. J. 🙏✨☘

--

--

James G Brennan
The Riff

Writes free to read eclectic free verse poetry. "Everything in life is writable about" Sylvia Plath.