You’re That Song in My Head

Poems inspired by music.

Charlotte Crockett
The Riff
2 min readApr 16, 2020

--

Photo by Oscar Keys, Unsplash

You are that song in my head

As I walk through the streets of Paris

Late at night

Words, movement

Faces, bodies

People rushing

And that melody

Racing through my head

Filled with nostalgia

Tears, I feel them coming

With this song on repeat

Walking, striding down the street

My boots smacking a pattern

Or is it that song that you hear in a café?

Background noise

Yet every word carries something more

When you don’t focus

It blends together

With conversation and laughter

Sentimentality

Music for an old soul

Sinatra, you are the man

Memories flood

Of casual socializing

So simple

Yet now so complex

And far away and distant

A longing for simpler times

I did it my way

I loved you

I didn’t want to go but knew I had to

This song winds around and around in my head

I stare up at the ceiling

Alone with my thoughts and this song

Around and around and around

I don’t want to go

Why did I go

I wish

I wish

I wish things were different

If I had stayed I could have made things better

I could have fixed it

But now I am far from you

And alone

These thoughts going in circles

Around and around

Wasn’t gonna go out

I was gonna stay in

Another Friday night on my own

Alone in the big city

My best friend gone

Just me versus the world

I walk and walk and walk

Everywhere I go

I am carried by the music

Carrying a tune in my head

I am lifted up and I fly above them all

I don’t know what I’m doing

But I’m doing it on my own

With my own resolve

And independence

Time spent reflecting

But yearning

Thinking about you

Knowing I need to move on

But I just can’t

Need to write, write, write

I sleep around

Fill my life with distractions

Again on my walks

I think and think and think about you

I don’t want to know if you have moved on

I just want time to pass so I’ll get over you

I love you

But it’s time to stop

To let go

To let you go

But I’m still not over you

--

--

Charlotte Crockett
The Riff

Aspiring writer and theatre artist, lover of language, spirited traveler