How 1 Decision Changed My Life Forever

Charlie Mitchell
In The Rough
Published in
2 min readSep 26, 2023
Charlie Mitchell, Paris (1998)

When I was 15, I took my first-ever flight, and it was to Belgium.

We took off from Miami, bound for a place unlike anything I’d known.

The idea of an 8-hour flight had my heart pounding like a drum in my chest.

The magnificence of Brussels’ history, the dope conversations on the bus about rap albums from the Wu-Tang Clan to Bone Thugs-N-Harmony with Nolan and Jeremy, and the deepening bond with my brother AQ made the trip unforgettable.

But one of the most surprising elements was the skepticism of my peers back home.

As the only black kid on a mission trip, they half-joked that I’d be left behind, but the world was calling, and I couldn’t resist.

I felt like a tiny fish in a wild ocean, ready to explore.

The trip changed my vision forever.

This new and expansive world dwarfed my neighborhood, making it clear it could no longer contain my dreams.

A standout moment was being called to speak in front of the entire mission team. I managed only a few words: “I got nothin’ but love for y’all.” Yet, that statement, simple as it was, marked the start of my realization that my words held power.

Returning home, I found myself transforming from a timid kid sketching comic characters to one being asked to share his testimony.

My humor, comfort on stage, and unlikely confidence came through at youth group when I told them the “Is it because I’m black?” story was used to secure a better breakfast.

That story and the response it garnered taught me the power of words, humor, and building relational bridges. This realization fueled multiple mission trips across numerous countries.

I learned that my voice can change perspectives.

Today, decades later, I’m a church planter, having established churches in urban contexts, married in a cross-cultural relationship, and consistently seeking to build bridges of understanding.

The journey would transform the shy 15-year-old from a backwater neighborhood to a pastor, coach, and visionary.

Everyone encounters unexpected opportunities.

While it’s natural to opt for what feels safest, I want to stress the importance of occasionally choosing the less comfortable, less predictable path.

Dare to leap into the unknown, it can redefine your life’s trajectory.

--

--

Charlie Mitchell
In The Rough

I used to be a pastor. Now I'm on the journey to becoming an entrepreneur through my writing.