Navigating Past Pain: A Guide for Parents to Break the Cycle of Generational Trauma

Charlie Mitchell
In The Rough
Published in
3 min readSep 11, 2023
Photo by Jimmy Dean on Unsplash

Snap Out of It

I refuse to believe my son just asked to go to P.F. Chang’s on a Tuesday night!

There have been moments in my parenting journey when I’ve caught myself giving my kids the side-eye for just being kids. Whether it was wasting food, asking for another vacation while on one, or suggesting expensive takeout as if money grows on trees. Then, it dawned on me — my reactions were molded by my upbringing and the unanticipated life circumstances that shaped me.

My kids are growing up in a vastly different world than Harlem Heights, where I grew up. Their mother is a self-employed nurse, and I’m consistently home, unlike my father, who was frequently away for work.

It struck me that my children didn’t need to change; I did.

Acknowledge Your Scars

Acknowledging your scars is the first step towards embracing them.

Many people try to conceal or disregard their scars, but this can lead to feelings of shame and low self-esteem. Accepting your scars isn’t a weakness but rather a display of resilience and bravery in confronting your past. It’s an acknowledgment of the impact that past experiences have had on you and a recognition that they have shaped you into the person you are today.

By embracing your scars, you can start to heal and move forward with a sense of strength and self-acceptance.

Taking Inventory

Begin by asking yourself:

- What life experiences have left a lasting impact on me?

- What events have shaped me into who I am today?

- What scars, both physical and emotional, do I carry?

These answers aren’t meant to make you dwell on the past but to help you realize the impact these experiences have had on you.

Photo by Jessica Voong on Unsplash

Compassionate Approach

Times were hard for our family when I was a kid.

I had to acknowledge the impact of growing up in the struggle. I have also had to acknowledge that I see my parenting in light of the unforeseen deaths of my parents. Those are significant factors that color my parenting. Identifying scars can be challenging, but it’s a crucial step towards healing. It’s important to approach this process with self-compassion and understanding. You are not alone, and many others have experienced similar situations. Acknowledging your scars can help you break the cycle of generational trauma and begin the journey toward healing and recovery.

Remember to be patient and kind to yourself throughout the process.

The Future is Flexible

The past has happened but not the future.

By taking stock of our scars, we can start to carve out a future not dictated by them. We can break the chains of generational trauma, starting with how we raise our own children. So the next time your kids do something that triggers an automatic reaction, remember they’re not growing up in your world. Be mindful that they have grown up in different circumstances than you.

Ultimately, the onus of change lies with you, not them.

Final Thought

By choosing to acknowledge and address our past, we create a safer, more nurturing environment for our kids, preventing those scars from becoming family heirlooms passed down through generations.

The future can be different, and it starts with you.

P.S.

Navigating past pain and breaking the cycle of generational trauma isn’t just possible — it’s necessary. And as parents, it’s one of the most important gifts we can give our children. So, let’s embrace our scars and build a healthier future, one step at a time.

--

--

Charlie Mitchell
In The Rough

I used to be a pastor. Now I'm on the journey to becoming an entrepreneur through my writing.