Prosperity Preachers Are Selling You Trash

Do I have a witness?

Charlie Mitchell
In The Rough
3 min readDec 2, 2017

--

Photo by Austin Chan

No, you are not coming into your season…

You are not about to have a breakthrough in your finances.
You wanna know why? Let me keep it 100.

Shouting…
Clapping really loud…
Decreeing and declaring…
Speaking it into existence…
And flowing in the gifts…

…will not make you a victorious Christian.

I don’t care how many sermons you listened to that preached it. It doesn’t matter how many “prophets” spoke it over you. It doesn’t matter if you spread the inspirational message with 12 people you loved on Facebook Messenger. It doesn’t matter if you read it in a recent bestseller.

Sanctification is not hocus-pocus nor is it an eternal slot machine.

Sanctification, discipleship, healing, or renewal doesn’t come by finding a preacher that will say everything you want to hear.

And every preacher knows it’s true.

That was me back in the day. That was the milk I was nurtured on. I’m telling you the truth; preachers have learned the art of making people feel good and get a reaction. I don’t think it’s all from purely evil intent because true ministers want to bring hope to their hearers. They are looking to be encouraged in their work just like everyone else.

Growth in Christ comes from trust, suffering, endurance, and the willingness to serve while everyone else seeks their personal agenda.

Period.

Breakthroughs don’t come from saying the right words, speaking in tongues, shouting until your lungs give out, or finding a prophet with a special anointing. In fact, those are the same things the Prophets of Baal did in the Old Testament.

Plain and simple.

My life has not been the ever abounding, walking into my destiny, Christian experience.

I wrestle with depression and anxiety. I argue with my wife. I struggle to stay disciplined. My friends have to jam me up. I grind, but I’m no guru. I do my best.

On my best day, I am still dependent Christ to work on my behalf. Every single day I am in need of Jesus doing for me what I can’t do for myself.

It’s hard to face new days with so many issues weighing you down. Often we navigate each day hoping not to get any bad news. Most days I don’t feel like I’m more than a conqueror.

What is so liberating when I have bad days, is to be reminded, I’m a mess yet deeply loved by God.

Stop Chasing the fake news version of “victory” and “the good life.”

God has called us to be “peculiar people” in a world gone mad. That means in everything you do from success to failure is to look distinct compared to those around you. You are not the status quo; you stand out from the crowd.

When you try to cheat the system with prosperity gimmicks that when things get out of whack.

Follow Jesus and walk in his ways. They are slow, tenuous, and come with many, many sacrifices and challenges. The prosperous Christian life is a life marked by abundant fruit of the spirit, making disciples and being on mission.

That’s my goal. So when I get sick, or when I fail, I don’t seek a fresh anointing. I seek to sit at the feet of Jesus.

You don’t need more hype. You need more Hope.

--

--

Charlie Mitchell
In The Rough

I used to be a pastor. Now I'm on the journey to becoming an entrepreneur through my writing.