Design Thinking Exercise

Carina Lázaro
The rise of a new Ironhacker (me!)
2 min readJul 20, 2017

As part of Ironhack's prework for the UX/UI bootcamp, I had to do this exercise for a client currently in charge of the Innovation Department of Whole Bank. She’s been helping her CEO migrate from a traditional bank to a more technological and user-friendly company. Whole Bank detected that the conventional Credit/Debit System shows big inconveniences for traveling customers. So, the idea is to give customers access to a payment feature that they can use exclusively when they travel, so instead of using their cards, they can use the app on their mobile devices.

I interviewed 5 users, who presented different payment profiles while travelling:

Some people prioritize cards, others both cash and cards and one uses card only for emergencies. Concerns are due to high taxes and card not working properly at some places.

So, I came to this main problems:

I decided to focus in a solution that avoids taxes and that allows people to control and classify purchases in categories, so if the company name that appears in the bank statement doesn't ring a bell of what purchase that was, the client can just modify it in the app for a preferred name.

I called this new functionality Appcard, as it converts the phone in a contactless card.

The process was very interesting, and the interviews made me see how differently people can face the same issue. But generally, bank apps had very good comments in the results, what made me concluded the Appcard could absolutely be adopted by users.

--

--