An Interview with Alex Baker from ROYALS

Rose Harmon
The Rise to Fame
Published in
3 min readMar 11, 2021

1. “How did you guys meet? What’s the story?”

Luke messaged me looking for someone to either drum or play guitar in a new project he was starting, so it was myself and Luke writing for a while (one of the first songs we wrote was ‘Up All Night’). We then pulled in some other members (including Will), we then recorded our first EP (‘Painted Gold’). From then we have recorded 2 new singles (‘Fair Weather Friend’ and ‘Out Of Reach’) with Seb Barlow.

2. “I love your song ‘Fair Weather Friend!’ Can you talk about the experiences that shaped the tone of the song?”

It is about friends that have let you down in the past and coping with that. It is based on personal experiences.

3. “What is the one take-away that you want your fans to walk away with after they listen to your music?”

It will be amazing if fans took something from our lyrics. If they relate to any of the songs in any way, and if the music makes them feel good, the same feelings I get when I listen to certain songs, goosebumps. That would be cool but if people just like our music, then that’s all I can ever wish for.

4. “What do you wish you had known prior to being in a band?”

There is a lot of hard work and effort and sometimes sacrifices for when it comes to being a part of a band, but that’s nothing I didn’t know already. I guess with this one, its my first pop-punk band and is for the majority of us, so there are few things with writing that I didn’t expect, but apart from that it has all been amazing.

5. “What bands influence your music? Top three?”

State Champs, Neck Deep, Waterparks.

6. “You said that you’re inspired by Between You and Me (BYAM). I can defiantly see the resemblance between your bands (no pun intended). Why do you think your band admires BYAM as musicians?”

They are just super fun and catchy, really good to listen to.

7. “What are two funny band stories?”

Luke had a stomach ache on the way to the studio a few years back, I told him to take Imodium to prevent any issues, and he was then constipated for a few days and blamed me.

Another time we were recording, and Will and Luke moved stuff around my room whilst I was brushing my teeth and convinced me it was a ghost, I did not sleep much that night.

8. “Do you feel like 2000s rock will make a comeback?”

I think it could, although I don’t make notice on how things sound era wise, I just like any style of pop punk, old or new school; it’s all good!

9. “Any upcoming gigs?”

Have to see how things go, we have a few things planned but just need to see what happens with everything first!

10. “Is there anything you want to say to your fans? Any parting words?”

Thank you to everyone who has supported, followed, and stayed with us through the tough times we have faced. I promise you: good things are to come!

Thanks, Alex, for taking the time to talk to me about the band! For anyone looking to listen to their work, click here for the link to their official website where you’ll find links to their Spotify, Instagram, etc…

--

--