Saturday ¡Ya está!

The Rivers School
The Rivers School
Published in
3 min readJun 29, 2018

An early morning departure for home found our group with tearful good-byes to our Spanish families and last looks at Cádiz as we drove across la Pepa bridge for the airport in Jerez and then were on to Madrid for one last bocadillo and café.

Group photo of the students who traveled to Spain

A Student Perspective:

Rachel Mann ‘20

“I was not expecting this program to be some of the best and most meaningful weeks of my life. Before leaving for the airport I was nervous because I thought of everything that could go wrong. What if I can’t communicate with my family? What if I get homesick? What if I don’t like the daily schedule? Instead of this, everything went right. I came to know Cádiz and its people and made amazing, lifelong relationships along the way. My host family, Milagros and Juan, could not have been more welcoming and kind. Jackie and I were extremely comfortable in their home and could not imagine anywhere better to spend these past two weeks.

If I’m being honest, another thing I was dreading was attending more classes after school just got out. Instead, classes were extremely enjoyable, and Andrés was a wonderful and patient teacher. We learned a lot of useful vocabulary, and they were a lot of activities that help us improve our listening and communication skills. Our group became extremely close throughout these classes where we would help each other out if one person was confused.

The one thing I looked forward to more to than these classes were the afternoon activities. Alvaro was fabulous in every aspect and became a friend to all of us throughout these two weeks. He was so kind, funny, knowledgeable, and was a big factor as to why our trip was so unforgettable. He made everything extremely interesting and answered any questions that we had. All of our activities were so amazing and I enjoyed all of them — the museum of Cádiz, Gadir, los Barrios of Cádiz, dance class, cooking lessons… you name it, and I loved it! They were well organized, and the schedule we received was really helpful.

I could do this program over and over again each summer! The entire trip has been incredible and I know it has been a once in a lifetime opportunity. I feel that I have grown as an individual in many ways and have been tested through different situations. Rooming with someone else, staying with a family who speaks a different language, navigating a new city, etc. If I received this opportunity again, I would do it in a heartbeat. This experience has inspired me to continue traveling and to continue learning Spanish. I am thankful for these two weeks and the people I got to spend them with.

When I close my eyes and think of my time in Cádiz, I picture myself arriving from my morning class, laughing with Jackie, and getting ready to eat an amazing dinner. After the delicious food we would head to the beach to catch up with our friends and relax near the beautiful blue water. We are all laughing and creating lifelong memories. Continuing the fun afternoon, we head to one of the many gorgeous plazas in the city to meet up with our fabulous teachers, who are ready to teach us more and show us on some amazing history. This amazing pattern of events continues for a fun-packed 14 days. And as the days pass by, the more we appreciate our experience in Cádiz and our time with each other.”

Rachel

--

--

The Rivers School
The Rivers School

The Rivers School is a coeducational, college preparatory day school for students in grades 6 through 12.