A Book Review

“Regretting You” by Colleen Hoover

A story that will tear you apart while showing you how much honesty matters.

Nikki H. Rose
The Riveting Review
3 min readSep 2, 2020

--

Photo by Matthew T Rader on Unsplash

I don’t know where Colleen Hoover has been all my life, but clearly I’ve been in the wrong place.

After reading the Hopeless series (and I’ll be honest, the first one is definitely better than the other two), I felt like I needed to branch out and see what else this author was truly capable of. After scouring bookstagram on Instagram, I saw numerous reviews for a number of her books. I added them all to my TBR list, but decided to settle down with Regretting You.

I don’t know if I let myself expect anything when I sat down to read this book, but if I had, it definitely wasn’t what I was expecting — and I mean that in the best way possible.

Regretting You is raw, just like the rest of Hoover’s novels (thus far). She writes about the horrific events that far too many people have to endure in their lifetimes, but that many would struggle to understand on a fundamental level unless they experienced it themselves.

At first I found myself getting whiplash from the trauma and horror that she was putting her characters through, but then I realized that that is exactly how trauma occurs in real life. We don’t expect it…

--

--

Nikki H. Rose
The Riveting Review

Most people use writing to escape their minds. I use it to meet mine. | Writer ~ Reader ~ Reviewer ~ Fighter of Invisible Illnesses