Habitat for Humanity

A day in the life of a non profit organization

Emily Godwin
Commit to Serve
4 min readJul 26, 2017

--

It is the first day of class, and I am in the wrong one. I was off to a good start as I proceeded to attend the wrong class for two days. When I finally moved to the correct class, I was unaware of what I was getting into.

“If you will, move those trash bags and give yourself a 3 foot space to walk back and forth” -Doug HFH

Roaches fled from underneath the bags as you picked them up. A white, milky-looking substance dripped from the bottom of one onto my leg. The smell could be described as offensively malodourous. The most unpleasant smell. I picked them up and threw the heavy bags aside, giving myself enough room to walk back and forth, like he said.

Job two.

“The water pressure is probably not that strong so I am not sure how this will work out but we will give it a shot.” -Doug HFH

It was covered in dirt and green residue. There were weeds growing up the sides. The bushes alongside the house were so close there was hardly any room to walk. We hooked the hose up and I began. Pressure washing. The water pressure was so weak, I had to stay in one spot for around 3 seconds until I could tell a difference and move on. The ground was so uneven and the space was such a tight squeeze, the ladder could not even open all the way and it was extremely wobbly as well. As the water ricocheted from the house to my face, I finished looking as if I had just gone swimming.

Job three.

Needless to say, it was a hot day in Georgia. There was a parking lot behind the houses and to prevent flooding, we needed to dig a ditch in between houses to insert pipes in the ground. That way, the water could run down past the house. Dirt. Never ending, digging is by far the worst job. To make matters worse, the air was hot and the dirt was dry. We dug, filled up a wheelbarrow, dumped it, and repeated. Over and over, the process continued.

Simrill UNIV 1103

Having a service based learning class has exposed me to community service around Athens. We worked on houses on Magnolia Terrace. In just 3 days, you could see a difference in day one to day three. We worked alongside people working for Habitat for Humanity, which is an international, non-governmental, and non profit organization.

Coming into the Freshman College Summer Experience, my mind was scattered. I had no idea what to expect or really what it would be like. The program was extremely beneficial. It helped me transition from high school to college by exposing me early to a variation of things such as, the campus, the people, the activities, the town, and the classroom. I was smothered with information, tips, and rules, but through the advice, I now understand how a typical classroom will work. I know what skills need to change for me in the fall. I learned how to balance and make good use of my time.

Habitat for Humanity exposed us to community service and helping with the project and being able to say we contributed to it feels great.

My new husband and I

--

--