More Than a Workout

What you didn’t realize about service learning

Ethan Fernandez
Commit to Serve
4 min readJul 31, 2017

--

I get it. I really do. To the teenager who has never stepped foot on a volunteer site, nothing about unpaid physical labor caught my fancy. I surely did not jump out of my seat when my professor told the class that we were going to spend every Thursday for three weeks digging, painting, mowing, cutting, and hauling at a Habitat for Humanity worksite in Athens. “What’s the point?” I may have caught myself wondering.

To whom it may concern, the experience I am about to relate to you will uncover the truths of service learning. If you were like me, an apprehensive student who had a small worldview, and are wondering if service learning or volunteer work of any capacity is right for you, consider this my letter to you. Hold on tight, because behind the sweat and blisters, something magical is happening…

“The best way to find yourself is to lose yourself in the service of others.”

-Mahatma Gandhi

Pretty powerful quote, right? When I was asked by my professor to create a video that embodied the passion and hard work behind our service project, I immediately began searching for a quote to capture it all in one sentence.

Then, I found it. It didn’t take long. Maybe you think it is cliche. But in fact, those simple words define what service learning became for all of us. It was a way for us to eventually lose our old selves and be transformed by what we accomplished.

The Project

It all took place at 118 Magnolia Terrace, Athens, GA. Our class made the trek to this clustered community every Thursday to assist in renovating a group of annexed, one-story houses that will be rented out upon completion. As we expected, the houses needed work, but that’s why we were there teamed up with the Athens area Habitat for Humanity.

When I arrived at the location and Doug Carver, our site manager, began handing out assignments for where we would be spending our morning, I must say that I was still not interested in what the experience had to offer for me. Being my lucky self, I received the task of digging an irrigation ditch to prevent flooding between two of the houses. Hours passed by slower than the formation of a blister on my right hand. I could feel a headache coming. It was excruciatingly hot. My blister was bleeding. Nobody seemed all that pleased with the fruits of their labor. The day was done and we regrouped on the front porch.

An Unexpected Pep Talk

Doug Carver, Director of Construction for Athens Habitat for Humanity

“You folks, by sweating, getting a little stain on you, and scrubbing some floors, have made things better for Athens and for other people”

-Doug Carver

As we stood on the front porch, our construction manager, Doug Carver, emphasized how impactful our work really was. He revealed to all of us that, compared to who we were building the houses for, we really aren’t bad off. Everyone standing in the semicircle came to the realization that it was never about having to stand in the oppressive heat all day, working hours on end. Instead, it is our work that will give some family a chance. We can’t simply fathom how much it will mean, but because we volunteered just short amount of time each Thursday, we are giving a family hope for a lifetime.

The Video Project

When I told my service learning professor about my career in filmmaking, he asked me to create a video for our service project. After having experienced one life changing day of service, I was thrilled to have this opportunity to share our experience. The primary reason I love videography is because a good video can effectively place you in that one moment in time. Nostalgia is one of the greatest human emotions, and I keep that in mind when I create any video. That being said, I hope that months or years from now, this short video project serves as a reminder to our class that, beyond the sweat and blisters, we came together to make a difference in the Athens community.

--

--