Photo Courtesy of Catalino

Catalino’s Story: An Active Handyman Service on Pause due to COVID

Small business owner focuses on family, relies on savings until he can work again

TrustPlus
Published in
3 min readMay 8, 2020

--

Catalino has a simple and effective business model called Handyman120 — for $120, he will do anything that needs to get done in a home over the course of six hours, from plumbing to electrical. The business was growing steadily — until the novel coronavirus hit New York City. Now, it’s not safe for Catalino to enter people’s homes, so he’s been unable to work for weeks. He’s spending plenty of time with his young daughter, Catariey, in their apartment in the Bronx. But he’s worried about caring for her needs and supporting his wife, Ariel, who is working on the frontline in a nursing home.

“I wish it were me out there. I am really protective of them. But I thank her every day, for going out there and doing it,” said Catalino.

Even with Ariel working, the loss of Catalino’s income has hit the family hard. They are leaning on Catalino’s savings, which he has been trying to build up as he grows Handyman120.

“I had a system set up with my business, where I saved 10% for myself. For every day that I worked, I made $120, and I would save $12. And I did that for everything. So if it was a $700 job, I saved $70.”

Catalino is doing his best to provide everything Catariey needs to learn, grow, and stay healthy with his limited savings.

“We are trying to be serious about our diet, and eat healthy to boost the immune system,” said Catalino.

With so much time at home, Catalino has been making new recipes for his family. But their savings are dwindling, especially because a few weeks ago Catariey got sick and needed antibiotics. Catalino tried to apply for unemployment benefits and a Small Business Administration loan but hasn’t yet received either.

Catalino received a $1,000 payment from Andrew Yang and Humanity Forward, through a partnership between Neighborhood Trust and SaverLife, to help him provide for his family through the crisis and keep his business afloat. He used it for essentials like fixing his car, buying groceries, and purchasing a new set of scrubs for Ariel to use at work. Catalino also paid the fee to keep his website online. He’s very grateful and wants to pay it forward. “I want to donate to this fund, someday, when things are back to normal,” he said.

Catalino is working hard to keep Handyman120 viable through the crisis and is looking forward to bringing on new clients once New York is open again. Soon, he would like to buy a home of his own for the family.

“My wife and I, we want to get our credit up and buy a property. I would love to own lots of real estate. Not for me, but for who comes behind me. For my daughter,” he said.

--

--

TrustPlus
Working Debt

TrustPlus is a financial wellness benefit that eases everyday money worries with personal coaching and action-oriented tools and products.