Client Beat: David Says TrustPlus Improved His Financial and Mental Health

TrustPlus
Working Debt
Published in
3 min readApr 7, 2021

--

David has a new outlook on his financial and mental health thanks to Tiffany, TrustPlus Personal Finance Coach. Working with Tiffany has definitely “helped my mental health. I feel less depressed and instead more happy and confident.”

“My friends and family are happy for me. They’re cheering me on as far as my goals are concerned, which has improved our relationships. Instead of talking about negative things, we’re now able to talk more positively.”

David found out about TrustPlus through CASH Campaign of Maryland. “The process was easy, CASH Campaign just sent me the TrustPlus web address and I was able to pick out my own coach from a list with pictures and bios.”

His primary goal was to build his credit and get out of debt so he could begin pursuing his goals of becoming a home and car owner. As a veteran, David could qualify for help with a down payment and low-cost mortgage through USAA, but first he would need to improve his credit profile.

David “felt so overwhelmed with my credit score that I didn’t even want to deal with it.” He “had no idea what FICO scores were and was going through life applying to different cards, but not being approved. I was basically lost and had given up on my financial fitness.”

Tiffany helped “break down what a credit score is and how you can build it up by paying off debts slowly but surely.” David started paying off his debts and his score started to increase.

He now has a credit card for the first time, using it to pay bills in full to build credit, and he opened several designated bank accounts for bill payments, everyday spending, and saving. David is on track to buy a car and a home in the next few years, using a VA loan. “Purchases that you need for a good life, I feel I’m able to attain now. Before I felt like I would’ve been turned down.”

“Tiffany was just amazing and was able to answer all my questions. Even though it felt like I was dishing out a lot of money toward debts just to get to a certain point, she reassured me it was the right decision and was just encouraging overall.”

“Tiffany was really flexible about what time I could meet with her for sessions and anytime I had a question, I could just send an email and she’d get back to me the next day.”

Through incremental adjustments, David achieved concrete milestones, including reduced debt, an increased credit score, and a healthy, confident approach to money. “I feel more part of the mainstream now and like I’m not at the poverty level anymore…I’m more frugal about what I buy because I don’t want to get back in debt.”

When he starts working again post-pandemic, he looks forward to opening an IRA to start saving for retirement. “I’m not interested in stocks or anything, I’m looking to make a sound investment in my future. I’m hoping to grow financially in ways that I previously didn’t think were possible…Now I have the confidence that I can have a good financial life.”

--

--

TrustPlus
Working Debt

TrustPlus is a financial wellness benefit that eases everyday money worries with personal coaching and action-oriented tools and products.