Why Learn React?

Michelle Colón
The Road to React
Published in
1 min readApr 18, 2018

There is not one specific reason I want to learn React. It’s more a combination of reasons: I’ve been trying to step my game up on Vanilla JS lately, and my original plan was to eventually migrate over to React. That was the plan until I saw an awesome job posting! They wanted someone who could help them migrate their current product to React/Redux. Instantly intimidated, I shied away from the post. There was no way I would qualify when I so clearly did not possess this major requirement. Right?

Well, a funny thing happened after that- the TL;DR is that I went to yoga with a friend who happens to work at that company. She encouraged me to apply and see what happens, so I did! Fast forward to less than a week later and I decided to take up learning React (and later, Redux), while also strengthening my Vanilla JS skills. In order to do that, I am following Cassidy Williams’ Udemy course: JavaScript and React for Developers: Master the Essentials. So far, it has been absolutely great- not only is it clear that she is very knowledgeable on the subject, but she also has great diction, and explains things in a way that helps you actually understand what is going on and why. I’m very big on the ‘why’ of things, so I am loving it!

I’m writing this blog as a record for myself, so that I can track my progress. Maybe someone else will get something out of it too :)

--

--