3 Powerful And Easy Methods To Improve Your Daily Life

These easy to implement changes can bring out a whole new side of you

Samu Kaarlela
The Road to Wellness
6 min readJun 24, 2021

--

Photo by Michael L on Unsplash

My everyday routine used to be all over the place

I would wake up anywhere from 8 am to 2 pm. Sometimes I would lay in bed for a few hours, and other times, a random burst of motivation would push me to go for a walk. Maybe I would do some of my piled-up work, maybe not.

These random bursts of motivation are what helped me realize something. There’s actually a lot I can do by changing only a little.

That moment happened to coincide with a time in my life where I was already making changes. I was improving my physical health and starting to clear my mental anxiety.

That made the first step a little bit easier, but it still wasn’t easy to start changing my everyday life. After all, whatever change I wanted to make would have to be done every day, and even the thought felt like a chore.

I ended up doing countless hours of research online and spent way too long coming up with my systems. Instead, I should’ve just started somewhere, no matter how small. One of my favorite books, Atomic Habits, has a quote that I should have applied all the way back then.

“Some people spend their entire lives waiting for the time to be right to make an improvement.”
― James Clear

The essence of this quote is that we often spend too much time planning out what to do. Instead, we should start as soon as possible. No matter how small.

Your everyday routine might not be as crazy as mine used to be. Still, you can benefit a lot from applying some of the techniques I’ll talk about in this article.

Method 1 — Consistent sleep schedule

You can not underestimate your sleeping habits. It is so important to make sure that you sleep enough. Even more important is your sleep consistency.

Consistent sleep means going to sleep and waking up at approximately the same time each day. For me, I’ve shifted my sleep schedule over the past year, with quarantine throwing me off a bit. I’ve now landed at waking up at 05:55 and going to sleep at 22:15 (or 5:55 AM and 10:15 PM for American readers).

There is a trick to this sleep schedule. This only applies on weekdays. On weekends I actually go to sleep at 00:00 and wake up at around 08:00. The reason for this is that I usually have plans on the weekends that go past 10 PM, so I had to adjust.

The thing to note is that my schedule is still consistent. It simply changes when transitioning from weekday to weekend. Of course, it would be preferable to have the same schedule for the whole week, but none of us are perfect.

When planning out your sleep schedule, there are two important factors to keep in mind. First, you need to understand sleep cycles. You should aim to get around 5 to 6 full cycles, but most importantly, you need to wake up at the end of the cycle. This makes waking up so much easier and can give you a huge boost of energy for the whole day.

Second, you should take a look at your sleep environment and your sleep hygiene. Both of these things can have a big effect on the quality of your sleep.

Take some time to think about when and how you sleep. It can change your entire life.

Method 2 — Sit less, move more

This can be tricky for some, but it makes a big difference in energy levels throughout the day.

In modern society, many of us sit still for very long periods of time. Especially office workers are in danger from this. Sitting still can cause blood clots in your legs. Beyond big health risks, it also lowers your energy levels and can cause other health problems. The most common one being back pain.

I personally recommend using a system where you work for a certain amount of time and then take a small rest. One common tactic, and the one I follow, is to work for a focused 25 minutes and then take a 5-minute rest. This rest should not be used for social media. Instead, you should be getting up from your chair and walking around a little. You can also do some stretching or get a glass of water.

Some jobs allow for movement more than others, and I get that. No one system will work for everyone. Play around and experiment with different tactics until you find one that suits you.

These little rests give your brain a rest and energize you. This way, you work with a sharper and clearer mind. That’s why I’m against using these breaks for social media. Checking email is tip-toeing the line, but if it’s for work, I can accept it.

You can apply moving more in other areas of life too. Going for walks more often or incorporating a workout day into your week is also very beneficial. Those need more effort, so I won’t go into detail about them here.

Method 3 — Drink more water

The amount of times I need to preach this subject is honestly surprising.

Drink. More. Water.

It’s so important. The daily recommended water intake is 3.7 liters (or 15 and a half cups) per day. This figure includes water intake from food. This accounts for an average of 20% of your daily water intake. Even then, I can guarantee most people don’t get even close to that amount.

Drinking water has been linked to a multitude of health benefits. It’s also been proven to increase energy levels, and it can even be an effective way to lose weight.

Yet, I feel like everyone around me shuns water. They drink a few cups a day max. It’s perplexing. In most parts of the world, water is quite cheap, especially relative to other options. It’s also available almost anywhere.

So please, drink more water. You’ll be amazed at how big of an effect increasing your water intake can have on you. Even if you can’t hit the recommended amount, increasing your intake even by a few cups can already help you out a lot.

Also, a side note; don’t buy off-the-shelf water every time. It’s only okay if you have no other way to get water. Buying water off the shelf is harmful to the environment and will end up costing you a lot more than tap water.

If you often end up in situations where you can’t find water, I recommend buying a 1 liter (3.5 cups) water bottle. You can fill the bottle up at home and refill it when you have the chance. That way, you make it easier to access water and end up drinking more.

Conclusion

Changing small things in your life can bring great benefits to you. Making sure you follow a routine brings effectiveness. Sleeping well makes you energized. Moving more improves your health and energy. Drinking water helps with all the previously listed things.

You don’t need to implement all these things at once. Start small by taking one of the items on this list and trying it out. If it works for you, then you can start implementing the other items as well.

If you enjoyed this article, you can check out a similar one here:

You can also follow me on my social media at Twitter and LinkedIn.

--

--

Samu Kaarlela
The Road to Wellness

I write about data science and health, sometimes combining the two. Hold every day as a new opportunity to learn.