How to Fulfill Six Essential Needs in Your Life

And become a badass of balance

Maddie McGuire
The Road to Wellness

--

Credit: @wayhomestudio on Freepik

During my coaching certification, we watched an exercise called the two-way mirror. It entails getting to witness a variety of real-life coaching sessions and analyze them. Taking stock of what we noticed.

Watching a coaching conversation that you’re not a part of feels exhilarating. And also like I’m becoming privy to information that was never meant for me.

I was fortunate enough to watch a few of John Kim’s sessions (Aka The Angry Therapist). He was firm and structured, yet the conversation flowed like a 5 pm happy hour with a good friend. The friend who’s always honest with you and probably asks pointed questions about your sex life without even the raise of an eyebrow.

He asked clients to explore how they were currently fulfilling their six basic human needs:

  • Emotional Needs
  • Physical Needs
  • Intellectual Needs
  • Purpose/Passion Needs
  • Spiritual Needs
  • Sexual Needs

Even as my eyes quickly scan over this list, I know which of these areas I’m fulfilling. And which ones resemble the solo sock that escaped from the herd while I was doing laundry. It now sits…

--

--

Maddie McGuire
The Road to Wellness

Certified coach, writer, and voice-over artist. Boxed wine aficionado. Email list: https://yougotyou.ck.page/f07cc31a95