Of Warriors, Demons and Dreams

0/

#FXNGCPTLSM
The Robocube Analytics
2 min readApr 26, 2016

--

It is March 18, 2016. It is going on a year now since I experienced what shall be known as the Vision of Robocube. I am at Barnes & Noble on Pearl Street here in Boulder, where I live happily with my wife and daughter. I am putting the finishing touches on the first of three books.

I am drinking Starbucks coffee.

I feel fortunate to live in a town that has many places to sit, drink coffee, read, write, and code. When I want to feel super smart I go to Trident on Pearl. That’s where the professors hang out. When I want to feel like part of the startup scene I hit Ozo, The Laughing Goat, or The Cup. If I don’t feel like traveling far I have Logan’s or Vic’s or Pekoe Sip House all very close to my home.

But this place; Barnes & Noble, is special to me. I really enjoyed Borders as well, but they are sadly no more. This is where I’m surrounded by the spirits of capitalism. By everything new, and a lot of the old stuff as well.

This is where I feel safe. Where I have access to all of my warriors, all of my demons, and all of my dreams.

This is my bunker.

Make no mistake. We are at war. My sense of safety, delusional. I know that. Outside, the enemy forces are gathering. They are preparing to use this snowy day for a late winter assault against the system that made me what I was, what I am, and what I still have to become.

We are outnumbered, facing what many would consider to be impossible odds. But I know it’s going to be ok. The enemies of capitalism have no idea what we have planned; animal spirits and I.

I know, I know, Guy Kawasaki says it’s bad to talk about your startup in warlike terms. But I can tell by walking around the aisles of Barnes & Noble that I’m not alone in having thoughts like these.

And you know what else?

Guy Kawasaki never started a company with the mission of #fixingcapitalism!

--

--

#FXNGCPTLSM
The Robocube Analytics

Analytics Developer, Trading Strategist, Advocate for Capitalism and Democracy