So what is this exactly?

Georgette
the romantic huckster
4 min readJan 5, 2018

About

Can liking romance be a thing? Not just bodice-ripping-romance or just meet-cute-in-a-park romance (though I mean those too) but romance-romance. Like, the idea that I can afford to live in New York, be a writer, and have a fabulous shoe collection or take part in weekend getaways out of the city (I don’t). That sort of everyday, romantical notion that life is a charming adventure of very well choreographed, properly dressed moments, perfect for an effortless Instagram shot (they’re not)

And there’s the girl meets boy moments.

And the career expectations.

And the naturally lit lattes on the table in the neighborhood cafe photos.

And bodice rippers and romcoms, of course.

I like romance.

You know, in the same way that I like pickles, the color yellow, and Top Chef. I’m a romantic in the sense that I have an ideal of my everyday, which means that I want it to be worthwhile, fun, and funny.

But I’m a realist. I live in New York after all, and this blog is my outlet to poke fun at that love and lifestyle, because, if I was doing things dead seriously, I would also unfollow or troll me too.

If you’re still confused or perhaps even titillated, I wrote a rantful think-piece with lots of pop culture references here. You should check it out and at me for commiserative hugs because you too have made similar mistakes because a movie made it look . . . well romantic.

About Georgette

Hi! I’m Georgette! So happy to meet you!

I’m an NYC-based writer and community builder. I like working with freelancers, digital nomads, and other creatives to motivate and learn more about their journeys. As a a writer, I’ve covered everything from dating, celebrity news, travel, architecture, working remotely, and the New York City dessert scene. I’ve written for sites like Bustle and brands like How About We and Journelle.

I love writing humor, sharing awkward moments of my life with personal essays, and covering anything food-oriented. With my stories, I aim to encourage the awkward and help find the humor in the mundane, because life’s best lived when you see it as an adventure and acknowledge it’s lightheartedness. Climb those stage steps on that open mic night, make that pun on that first date, and try that new flavor while you travel the globe. Own the fear or potential embarrassment, because that’s usually when the worthwhile happens.

I’ve written online and print. I’m always looking for ways to work with others — whether that’s hosting a mastermind or creating content. So drop me a line! I’d love to hear from you!

More of my writing

Chocolate Gems from Mini Melanie

The NYC Donut Crawl

An Argument for Cold Desserts in Cold Weather

9 Celebs Who Would Totally Go to Chipotle with You

Jennifer Aniston Is My Relationship Patronus

How Did Blake Lively and Ryan Reynolds Meet? Their Story Reads Like a Gossip Girl Blast

I Challenged Friends Fans at the Central Perk Pop Up to Name Monica’s 7 Erogenous Zones

Ed Sheehan Nails It with the Love Is Cheesecake Metaphor

Renee Zellweger’s New Look Opens My Eyes About Our Expectations for Famous Women

How to Throw Your Own ‘Mean Girls’ Bachelorette

12 Celebrity Foodies You Need to Follow on Instagram

10 Clever Dessert Hacks to Make This the Summer of the Ice Cream Sandwich

Please Don’t Get Cosmetic Surgery to Take Prettier Pictures of Your Engagement Rings

Skymall Gifts Are the Best Gifts in the Sky and on the Land

Science Says Hanging Out at the Bar Is Good for You

What Drink to Order When She Says She Doesn’t Care

In Defense of Taking Your Date to a Fast Food Restaurant

10 European Coworking Spaces Perfect for Startups

What We Can Learn from Soulmates Kelly Rowland and Beyoncé

Please Don’t Crash My Wedding, Even if You Are Famous

Aziz Ansari Compares Love to Healthy Salad and Means It as a Compliment

Mark Wahlberg Makes Me Want to Be a Better Dad (Yes, Even if I Am a Single Woman with No Children)

--

--

Georgette
the romantic huckster

Writer & community builder living in NYC. Filipino-American looking for identity, humor, and a snack.