The Game Of Life

The Trauma Of Being Robbed

The Human Impact of Football-Related Crimes

LARO ✨✨
The Round Ball of Life

--

Photo by Author Generated By Bing.com images

Malaysia is not known in the UK for its fanatical supporters.

But the other day, I was reading an article on how a man attacked a player, Faisal Halim and threw acid at him.

They took him to the hospital and treated him for severe burns.

A person threw acid at him because of his job.

Let’s take that in — a man is now scarred for life because he kicks a ball up and down a pitch for a living.

This was the third attack on Malaysian players in over two weeks. Someone smashed Safiq Harim’s windscreen with a hammer but he was unharmed, and someone robbed Akhyar Rashid outside his home.

My own experince of being robbed

I remember the shock I had when my whole team got robbed. We had just finished a game and made our way to the dressing room. We found out that someone had robbed it. Someone stole our money and other belongings.

Thieves took my friend’s Mercedes, but left my Ford Fiesta. I don’t know why!

But I was thankful that I could drive home once my brother delivered the spare keys.

This is not a new trend. Criminals have robbed footballers in the UK at gunpoint and have also beaten them in their homes. Thieves stole possessions worth thousands of pounds. One footballer’s wife and children were at home while he was playing. Thieves broke in and robbed them at knifepoint. I hope this does not become a worldwide trend. We need to stop it early.

The players have an affluent lifestyle so they will become a target.

Here in the UK, players now hire private bodyguards. They hire them for themselves and their families. The Malaysian Football Association has recommended that players hire bodyguards as well.

Lionel Messi is arguably the best player ever.

He is now playing in the United States, and he has a personal bodyguard. The guard walks up and down the touchline during the game, and follows Messi everywhere.

I know there is a cost of living crisis all over the world, but this is not the way to get out of it.

Injuring people and stealing what they have worked hard for is not going to help these thugs in the long run. Hopefully they will see that.

I hope that soon this senseless and greedy violence will stop. But with people wanting more of what others have. I cannot see it coming to an end soon. Plus, some people take the game so seriously that they want to injure or kill footballers.

Here’s to brighter days ahead and an end to this senseless violence and stealing.

LARO ✨✨

--

--

LARO ✨✨
The Round Ball of Life

I write about Sports exploring success and failure, sharing insights with readers. Dedicated father and husband building my business.