Credit: Amsterdam Marathon

Amsterdam Diary #1

Almost there and have not written a thing (yet)

Joseph Emmi
The Running Log
Published in
2 min readSep 11, 2019

--

How on earth did this happen?

In five weeks will be running my 4th marathon and just realised that I have not documented anything over here. Not that I have should have or that is someone asking for it, but it is something that I have enjoyed doing over there years every time I have enlisted to one these races.

So what’s the deal?

The same as usual.

Same distance. Same people. Different city.

However, two particularities about this year’s race are, first, how it came to be. I was nowhere near capable to face marathon training during the first quarter of this year. Things were gone to shit in my personal life and the idea of training for a marathon felt just like impossible, my mind was not in the right place.

The second particularity is how smooth things eventually started to fall into place, how well my training has been going, but most importantly, how much I’ve been enjoying it. Because despite one or two difficult days here and there, I’m having fun, feeling strong and looking forward to this race.

The time? I don’t yet and in all fairness, is not something I’m thinking about too much. Yes, of course, I’d like to get a super-fast time, and I even been feeling very confident about being able to obtain it. However, sometimes people go on holidays in the middle of a training block and things become a bit uphill when coming back. Not saying this is me, it could be, but that’s another story…

In the meantime, back to work and make the most of time left before the big day.

Just five weeks to go!

--

--