Amsterdam Diary #4

Leave room for recovery

Joseph Emmi
The Running Log
2 min readSep 26, 2019

--

On Sunday I was meant to go out very very long. I didn't.

I was meant to go out and run 36km, life got in the middle. I was tired, it got late, started to rain, the rain got even harder. I had to work. Not your ideal scenario when you are planning to go out for a run that it’s going to take you at least three hours to complete.

With a very little room to manoeuvre with only four weeks left before the big day and only three long runs (including that one) left on the plan, things got messy and had to readjust.

The main problem when you reach to this point of the training becomes time, a little thing that goes wrong and your day can be compromised heavily, because let’s face it, +3 hours run is not something you can easily squeeze in the middle of the week. Also, you need to leave enough time between long runs for your body to recover.

On Tuesday night I went out with the crew as usual, we had our “The Good” session, with a very steady pace, that form the first time after coming back from the trip felt smooth again. I was able to keep a fast and consistent pace, although the tiredness of the week started to catch up with me by the end of it.

Until here, everything great. No challenge and all win so far. The lesson came the morning after (yesterday). I knew I needed to get some distance on this week before Sunday, otherwise, it would have been too much separation between the upcoming one and my last one. I knew I couldn’t do the whole thing, but I could a Half-Marathon. That you can squeeze in the middle of the week. And so I did.

First thing in the morning, I lace up and went out, looking forward to it. All good since the beginning, could feel the legs responding accordingly and the heaviness seems now completely gone. All victories all around.

However, it only took me a couple of kilometres in to realise something, or to feel something I should say. Tiredness was again out to play.

Having accumulated some exhaustion since Sunday, was taking and tool that I could feel on Sunday night, but it was that in conjunction with the run I had the night before that got me like that.

As the feeling intensified, I realised that I only had 12 hours rest in between runs, and that I was on-route for 21 kilometres. This meaning that the speedy plans I envisioned need to be reassessed.

It was not tragic, but something to keep in mind for next time.

I managed to pick up the pace on the way back, which felt good and reassuring towards the last leg on the training plan. Ultimately, it was done, which is the most important thing. Leaving me ready for Sunday and in better physical and mental position.

Things are getting back in place and I’m getting ready to rumble.

--

--