Amsterdam Diary #6

Back on track. Not long to go. Don’t forget your sleep.

Joseph Emmi
The Running Log
1 min readOct 8, 2019

--

This is it, with less than three weeks to go before the big day, I can now say that things are back on track.

I comfortably managed the longest run on my training plan, I got back to lifting heavy at the gym, and completed our last speed session as a crew without major problem.

Speed and endurance are back, and continuing this rhythm should guarantee that they stay in place for the main event.

However, there is something I’ve not only highlighted before but that requires reiteration. Recovery is as important as showing up and doing the work.

It is, as a matter of fact, what will allow you to do the best work possible.

Training hard is and feels great, but without the right amount of sleep it‘s not sustainable.

During last week’s speed session the tiredness caught up with me, and despite of finishing, the only thing I asked myself was, how better things could have been if I have not had to battle exhaustion?

This I’ll never know, but can make the effort to avoid having to ask myself this question from time to time.

--

--