Barcelona Diary #24 — Change of Plan

Joseph Emmi
The Running Log
Published in
1 min readFeb 4, 2017

Houston, we have a problem!

Last week I discovered a ‘minor’ glitch into my training plan; that actually there were more days and sessions than what I actually needed.

11 weeks left on the plan, only 6 until race day. Interesting.

So what does it mean? That long distance runs are getting longer sooner, peak week it’s just around the corner. and there’s no room for mistakes. Yes, this includes running the full distance.

Anything else?

Not much, except from the fact that just after this, I got sick, spent a couple of days in bed and missed three days of my already compromised training. IDEAL.

The morale of the story?

Probably none. There’s not much I can do at this point, so it will be a matter of trusting the process, keep the legs moving and just not overthink it. Just let it go, focus on what it’s coming, focus on what is left.

A highlight? I’m feeling weirdly rested.

After the mentioned days off, I finally got back on the road, and although at times my technique and pace felt a bit different, my legs are not getting sore at all, not even the day after.

No, I haven’t foam rolled.

No, I’m not properly stretching.

No, I’m not wearing my recovery tights.

Maybe I am becoming a superhero?

Stay well, and see you on the road!

J.

--

--