Copenhagen Diary #9

Confidence restored

Joseph Emmi
The Running Log

--

Tuesday night, sunny and the beginning of rising temperatures upon us; what else could I ask?

After the events of last Sunday, been able to go out with the crew and clock some miles at a fast pace felt like a success and exactly what I needed.

We did our usual the Summer version of our Kelvingrove Stairs route, that by itself is great news because it means is not dark anymore, but beyond that the great feeling of been able to go through my run from start to finish feeling strong and pushing it until the end, especially after a disastrous previous week where all I felt heavy and sluggish in almost every run.

Also getting back to a more normal week at work, where deadline have been meet and a lot the pressure is now gone, as it clearly was impacting my performance. This is something that I came to learn after a while, realising that when there are period of time where there is too much going on and my head busy dealing with so much stuff, that will negatively affect my running, making it hard to stay focuses and by consequence go slower or just struggle to go through the sessions.

Additionally to this, having caught up with sleep makes also a massive difference (as I stated before), so from here, as we are 4 weeks away of the big day, the main goal is to keep it simple, sleep well and just gave it all to the last segment of the training.

As I said to the guys today, there’s now too little room to get creative or risky, so stay healthy (and away from dogs*) do the work and let’s make it to the starting line, once we get there we know what to do.

*When it gets to this point of the training, I tend to get a bit scared of dogs that get too close to me when I’m running or cycling, because I get this idea/vision that they will bite me and that I won’t be able to run the Marathon. I know, I’m crazy, but every runners is, one way or another.

This article is part of my #100DayProject #100DaysofWriting — Day 15 of 100

--

--