Which Placements in Your Birth Chart Relate to Narcissistic Programming?

Karin M. Yearwood
The 9th Cup
Published in
4 min readSep 7, 2020
Photo by Farzad Mohsenvand on Unsplash

While not everyone is a malignant narcissist, everyone is susceptible to being negatively affected by one. Over the course of our lives, we have plenty of encounters, some brief, some long-term. The relationships we build are placed in categories that society has determined for us. Friendships (platonic), relatives, soulmates, twin flames, marriage partners, work relationships, business partnerships, simple acquaintances. I’m sure I missed a few.

For those of us raised in narcissistic homes, we’ve most likely encountered narcissism in almost all of the above categories. This is partially due to the programming we received in early childhood. Even if you only experienced narcissism during adulthood, there could be aspects of your “cosmic DNA” that point to your adverse experiences. As it relates to astrology, there are two placements in our natal charts that point to some reasons why narcissism is a theme in our lives.

Everyone has an astrological birth chart (natal chart). It’s a snapshot of the sky at the very moment we are born. It shows the planets in particular positions in specific “houses” of the natal chart. There are a total of twelve houses and each one represents certain aspects of life. Every house also has its natural zodiac sign and planetary ruler. For example, Mars rules Aries in the 1st house; Venus rules Taurus in the 2nd house, and so on. However, you will have unique placements in your chart. For example, Taurus is in my 1st house and no planets are placed there. There are no houses that correlate to narcissism more than others, however, what placements those houses have may be indicators that the individual will experience narcissism in some way.

The two placements which give insight to our experiences with narcissism are the moon and the Chiron. The moon’s placement in your natal chart tells you what ancestral wounds you carry in this human experience. The Chiron is linked to wounds you developed in previous lives. So the Chiron is often played out in the subconscious mind. Whereas the moon is front and center in your life because you will see these “wounds” played out among your family of origin.

I will use my placements to explain further. My moon is placed in the 4th house in the sign of Leo. The fourth house is the house of foundation, family, and stability. Leo is a fire sign, fixed, and fiercely loyal. But because my moon is placed here, it indicates that my ancestral wound is linked to my family and sense of kinship. It also means that there is a dysfunction surrounding loyalty. Because of Leo’s fire element, the dysfunction in my family is passionate — and I feel passionately about it. Hence my platform for esoteric healing. Leo’s ruler is the Sun. The Sun rules the heart and solar plexus in the human body. So, as it relates to family and kinship, I have been heart-broken, neglected, patronized, and betrayed. My father is an altruistic narcissist, and my mother is severely codependent. They are married and I was raised in the same household. See the link?

My Chiron is more indirectly correlated. It’s placed in the sign of Gemini in the 2nd house, the house of personal finances, and where we place our value. As you can imagine, I’ve struggled to know my own value and how to properly discern the value others bring to my life. I’ve allowed poor treatment, dishonesty, and takers to extract my time, money, and energy. Gemini is an air sign and ruled by Mercury, so it’s highly intelligent and communicative energy. However, a soul wound in Gemini means effective communication is a challenge. Chiron in Gemini in the 2nd house ultimately means I struggle to communicate my value authentically. Would a narcissistic family compound this soul wound? Absolutely.

Everyone has ancestral and soul wounds. And we are all given free will. It’s important to know that the natal chart is just a blueprint of our human experience. It’s a script. We don’t have to follow it. But studying it can lead to revelations about our decisions, relationships, and overall abundance.

If this aligns with your beliefs and spiritual practice, we can explore this more by scheduling a Soul Purpose reading with your unique natal chart. When we begin to heal the soul, everything else becomes a momentary experience.

Sign up for a free 5 Day Breakthrough Challenge here.

--

--

Karin M. Yearwood
The 9th Cup

Transcending the ceiling of perceived limitations and inspiring others to do the same. Free Hypnosis For Releasing Heavy Emotions at www.karinmyearwood.com