The Sacred States of America: An Introduction

--

One of the three matching notebooks I used to write the stories in The Sacred States of America. Christina Fixemer © 2019

The Sacred States of America is a collection of short stories and novellas I wrote beginning in 2016, during the contentious election that brought us an…unexpected result. I’ve had to modify several stories to accommodate real-world events since that election.

The hard part has been in deciding what to do with these stories that poured from my vision of what could happen should the Christian Dominionists achieve their goal of forcing the USA to be a Christian nation. This country was not created to be a Christian nation. I will get into these issues later. They’ll be under this banner, as far as I plan.

I’ll list each story in chronological order as I post them. The first will be “The Man of Faith, 2025 C.E.” Each story title includes the year it occurs. The span goes out a long while, but I have to adjust, given new information I’ve encountered regarding climate change. I thought we had longer. I truly did. While I try to have some decent thought behind how the environment will go, I am not a climate expert, and I wrote these stories beginning in a rage. I allowed them to sit for a long while after typing them into the computer. Oh yeah, did I mention I wrote by hand? Yeah. I did that.

SOME STORIES WILL REQUIRE SENSITIVITY READERS for racism and other bigotry. I’m not going to lie. These are hard stories. Some *will* have trigger warnings. The good thing is that not all of the stories do, and they do not have to be read in order. They have to be harsh, and it was the most difficult writing I have ever done.

I’ll add articles that provide background and other information as time goes on. I also intend to add a Twitter link. As I learn to better use Medium’s platform, I’ll figure out how to add the longer stories. I may just post them on my website and link from here. We shall see!

I am not charging anything for these stories — it’s more important to me that they are spread as to warn that inaction today can lead to a frightening tomorrow. Thank you for your time.

The Man of Faith — 2025 C.E.

--

--

Chris Fix
The Sacred States of America: Vignettes of Tomorrow

Chris writes about autism, mental illness, social justice, and science. Chris also writes steampunk and fantasy fiction.