Brave New World

Kimberly Carter
The Salamander
Published in
5 min readMar 28, 2021

--

How I’m learning to safely venture out post-lockdown.

Photo by author

Like a creature reborn into the light, I’m venturing out from the five mile radius of my homestead for the first time in a year. We all are. It’s weird, curious, and a little delightful, this traveling about.

“You need to schedule time off,” my coach said, mid-lockdown.

I’ve always worked from home, but my home is a horse farm. Plus, I’m a Scorpio who learned how to be an extrovert, a skill I use only when needed.

The horses are a great excuse. They’re happy to get me out of any occasion because they’re fundamentally fragile and mysteriously accident-prone. They’re big, but they’re clunky.

“I’m sorry, I can’t come over tonight. The big, red one ripped part of his face off. I’m waiting for the vet to come stitch him up.”

My industry is full of learned-extroverts. It’s like we’ve been practicing for lockdown our entire lives. Need to stay home? No problem. We can read, drink tea, spend time creating elaborate business ideas, all the while having something tangible to finally throw ALL our anxiety into. When the shit hit the fan, we were ready to accelerate — into a standstill.

The living in relative confinement came as naturally as sending a call to voicemail. I could study intention from a distance before…

--

--