Story of my Internships !

akshay karthik
The Sales Engineer aka "Aku"
5 min readMar 29, 2018

I am currently pursuing final year B.Tech IT at SSN College Of Engineering. I have completed 4, full time business internships from different companies like SPI Cinemas, Qube Cinema Technologies , SPI Incubator and at Freshworks Inc.

It all started from there!

April 16, 2016 was the day when I was selected for an Internship at SPI Cinemas via an Intern drive at my college. I worked there as a Marketing Intern for a project called “Market expansion for Externship “ . My mentors were Ratheesh Krishnan, Gokul Ramesh and Shruti thoonoli. I had an amazing learning experience and had great fun.The food was awesome there and it was totally free.I interned there from June 20 to July 14[Fourth semester holidays 😅]

The unforgettable experience was when I had a chance to interview MBA candidates from Saveetha B School. I was just 19 at that time, initially I was scared but later I did a great job recruiting people. I also had a chance to be a part of the recruitment team in an Intern drive at Great Lakes Institute of Management.

That Internship helped me to understand my strengths and urged me to learn more. Later I applied for an Internship at Real Image Media Tech Pvt. Ltd. also called as Qube Tech. I was called for an interview and got selected for a Marketing Internship.

I worked for a marketing research project for a subsidiary company of Qube called Justickets. I did primary research and conducted surveys to understand the brand awareness of Justickets among potential customers.

This book helped me a look for the MR project.

My mentors were Harihara Subramaniam and Ramya. This was my first paid internship and I received a stipend of 5k per month 😍. I interned there from December 2016 to February 2017[fifth semester holidays]

@ Real Image

After doing two Internships at big companies I wanted to do one at a Startup. Luckily there was an opening for an Intenrship at SPI Incubator which is a part of SPI Group. I applied there and got selected for a market research internship. SPI incubator uses disruptive tech to build amazing products.

I worked for two projects related to Vertical Farming and Terrace Farming. My mentors were Kevin and Pritesh Mehta.

We had great fun. We work hard and play hard!

I Could never forget the cricket matches played at the office terrace and the food served for lunch was amazing.

I interned there from May 2017 to June 2017[sixth semester holidays] and I received a stipend of 10k per month.

After completing my Internship with SPI Incubator I was confident and clear about what I want to do and what job helps me to do that. In my campus placements I got selected in Freshworks as a Pre Sales Engineer.

Freshworks called all the selected candidates for an Internship and this was my last internship.

To do an internship in an office that you are going to work later is a great experience. During my Internship I worked on an assignment to catgorize RFP responses for Freshdesk and FreshService under multiple categories . Had Freshdesk product training sessions, learnt about Freshdesk Channels , Automations , portal customizations etc.

Had sessions on writing customer replies for technical queries and I got a chance to give a product demo on Freshdesk. My mentors were Vinod Chandramouli and Aadhithya Reddy.

The first demo!

Perks of Interning at Freshworks is huge and I highly recommend you to read my answer on Quora ->https://www.quora.com/What-s-it-like-to-work-at-Freshworks-formerly-Freshdesk-Chennai-and-how-would-the-career-progression-be

Intern’s day out was iconic 😆 and a day to be cherished.

I interned there from Jan 2018 to Feb 2018[Seventh semester holidays] and received a stipend of 15k per month.

I will like to list out what I have learnt from my Internships.

1.Networking -> It’s a great skill I have developed. It’s really useful in long run.

2. I am comfortable in talking with different people and making new friends.

3. If you don’t sacrifice for what you want, what you want becomes the sacrifice.

4. Always ask feedback from people for the work you have did.

5. Be humble and kind and try to help your colleagues at work.

6. If you don’t know something just accept that you don’t know and say that you are willing to learn.

7. Don’t take unnecessary leaves and permissions.

8. Multitasking -> I was studying for college exams and was also preparing presentations for my internship project 😆

9. Be very careful before you make commitments at work. Don’t make decisions when you are extremely happy or extremely sad.

10.Always have an attitude to learn.

I want to thank my college for providing me an opportunity to do Internships. Hope my Internship experience will help me to excel in my career at Freshworks!

--

--