Church Alternatives for Former and Disillusioned Christians

Here are some ways to reclaim Sunday morning with new meaning

Dani Fankhauser
The Salve

--

Photo: Alicia Llop/Moment/Getty Images

In college, I used to take a travel mug full of Trader Joes $2 wine and a bag of pita bread to the beach. I’d sit on a rock, stare at the stars, and reflect on my life. I called it Super Communion.

As a teen, communion was one of my favorite spiritual practices. At midweek youth worship services, leaders would invite us to take our cracker and mini grape juice cup to a couch or a private corner of the room for alone time with God. When I started attending more liturgical services after college, I bristled at having to wait in line and take communion on the spot, instead of on my own time, but grew to like the “togetherness” this ritual represents.

As a child, I considered spiritual disciplines to be the boring part of faith, but as my spirituality evolves, I find practices rooted in or inspired by tradition help me feel like I’m part of something larger.

I have many fond memories of church: watching kids play soccer on the lawn while the rest of us snacked on the monthly potluck, singing worship music as loudly as I could with…

--

--

Dani Fankhauser
The Salve

Writer, astrologer, meditation teacher. "The future belongs to those who believe in the beauty of their dreams." - Eleanor Roosevelt