Like Kesha, We’re All Good and Raising Hell

Her new music video features a Christian storyline and imagery

Daniel Foster, M.Sc.
The Salve

--

Photo: Santiago Felipe/Getty Images

Kesha released a new song Thursday after her announcement this week of her upcoming album, “High Road”, set to release later this year. Her new single and music video, “Raising Hell” featuring Big Freedia, sets a tremendous stage for this new album.

Kesha is depicted as a good ol’ southern preacher and televangelist; potentially playing reference to Jan Crouch, a co-founder of Trinity Broadcasting Network. The opening scene shows Kesha opening the doors to her grand mansion in the middle of a quiet summer night. The scene changes to showing her preaching on a TV with sounds of her playing the piano and vocalizing accompanying the intro. It takes a quick turn to an upbeat song that shows the Kesha we all knew before, but who has been matured with the traumas of life.

On Thursday morning, Kesha spoke to SiriusXM about her new single, saying, “I created ‘Raising Hell’ in the basement of a strange home I’d never been to before. I was with my friends, and we…

--

--

Daniel Foster, M.Sc.
The Salve

Deconstruction is my favorite word. Love is my favorite action. Peace is my favorite state. Data is one of my best friends.