The Sort of Christian Who Wears Blue Nail Polish

Why I believe legalistic expectations should go out of style

Courtney Christine Woods, LSW
The Salve

--

Photo: Courtney Christine

People can be very easily categorized and divided.

There are people who sleep with people they haven’t married first, and there are people who do not.

There are people who fall in love with people of the same gender, and there are people who do not.

There are people who dye their hair green, pierce their belly buttons, get back tats, play beer pong, and use four-letter words for emphasis.

And there are people who do not.

There are two kinds of people in the world: the Do Not Do people who busy themselves creating these kinds of lists, and everyone else who is just trying to be human and hurt as few people as possible in the process.

I used to belong to the Do Not Do group. Legalism was the brand of Christianity I lived and breathed. I had a lot of expectations for others and held myself to the same standards. It was important for me to be perfect. I followed all the rules. When I realized I’d broken one, I worked myself sick trying to change. I wanted to be loved. I thought this was how you get love.

By some people’s standards, I was the model Christian.

--

--

Courtney Christine Woods, LSW
The Salve

Storyteller, social worker, solo parent. Fan of triads and alliteration. Believer that we’re all out here doing our best. Find me on FB @courtneycwrites